Hove Park School Book Reviews

Here’s a selection of Young Adult book reviews from the pupils at Hove Park School.

***

Wasted – Nicola Morgan

When I first saw the front cover of Wasted and read the blurb, I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it, and, as I realised when I was reading the book, the cover and the name give the wrong impression to the reader. The front cover looked like the story should be gory and quite frightening, which it wasn’t in fact. I ended up really enjoying the book, because the characters were all very believable, and the plot was so gripping.

Jack’s game is a very interesting, but also extremely dangerous. He takes massive risks that can easily change his life, or determine life or death, as it does in the ending.

It really makes you think about how doing one little thing can end up being life-changing, and it’s really amazing that it’s true.

I loved the storyline and I would give Wasted a star rating of 9/10.

***

Between Shades Of Gray – Ruta Sepetys

Lina and her family all get captured and taken to Siberia. Along the way her and her family are stuck in this truck struggling to survive.  Lina meets this boy called Andrius Avradas and in an instant she fell in love with him. Along the way Lina keeps her passion of drawing.

Lina is a passionate girl with a heart as strong as bamboo but when she is captured all her hope leaks out  when she meets this boy called Andrius Avradas all her thoughts go on to him.

Star rating: 5/5

***

The Toymaker for me was a intressting and gripping piece, I loved the way it wasn’t like a diary, it was more like the author was narrating the book. For me the ending was rushed a bit and it would have been better if it was a bit longer or on a cliff hanger.

***

The Toymaker by Jeremy De Quidt is about a boy named Mathias and his journey to reveal his Grandfather’s secret.  This is definitely not the kind of book I would normally consider reading, however I found myself reading it for hours on end and enjoying it immensely. It is a very descriptive and imaginative book with a good bit of mystery.  I would happily read this fantastic book again and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

***

Saving Rafael by Leslie Wilson is about a teenage girl called Jenny and her experiences in Nazi Germany. The focus of the story is Jenny’s forbidden love for Raf.  I think this book is extremely well written and captures the viewpoints of many different characters so well – I honestly couldn’t put the book down! Every page of this book is great in a different way, creating tension, sadness and happiness.

I really enjoy reading books about different people’s experiences and I have to say this is certainly one of the best I have read; therefore I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend.

About Alex

Digital comms officer
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

