Mood Boosting Books Update

Dear Brightonians and Hovites,

 

Thank you all for your mood-boosting book nominations!

mood boosting books

 

My desk is currently covered in envelopes containing completed postcards from libraries and the other organisations which worked with us on this campaign, such as Mind Shops, the Wellbeing Service and council customer service centres. I am having a great time reading about your book choices. A huge range of titles has been chosen, from Travel books – looking and reading travel books cheers me up! Beautiful photos and inspiration! to The Gingerbread Man – my daughter loves this story with the rhythm and characters. Every time she asks for it and reads along with me. It encourages her reading.

 

There are many inspirational comments about why you have chosen the books that you have. Here are just a few from the postcards I have read so far:

 

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce. It was so moving it made me want to set off on a very long walk. Its about achieving things against all odds, funny, very sad and you feel thankful to have read it when its finished. Best thing I’ve read in ages.

 

 

To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee. It gives you hope that there are good people in the world and it is very refreshing, yet not too happy.

 

Saturday Night and Sunday Morning by Alan Sillitoe. I first read it when I was 16 and when I want to read a book that isn’t too challenging I always go back to this one. I read it every 4 or 5 years and I find it comforting. I met my future husband aged 19 and he had also read it and owned his own copy, which created a bond between us. We are still together 21 years later!

 

alchemistThe Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo. It’s such a simple spiritual heart-warming story. It simply transforms you and your perception on life. Everyone has a journey in life, Santiago has his, almost a pilgrimage.

 

 

 

Some books made you laugh: 

 

Surgically Enhanced by Pam Ayres. Very funny poems. Brings a smile to your face

 

I Must Collect Myself by Maureen Lipman. Very funny – it cheered me up

 

Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Winston. Makes me laugh

 

Wendy Cope’s Poetry. Its funny and lifts me every time I read it

 

hitchThe Hitch-hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Very Funny. Just helps me not take life too seriously

 

 

 

 

 

Others you couldn’t put down:

 

Warrior of Rome parts 1 and 2 by Harry Sidebottom. Excellent stories. ‘Earthy’ where needed and with characters that you instantly gel with. If I could wait that long – a fantastic holiday read!

 

Stuart McBride (anything). The plotting is first rate, his dialogue is natural ‘as it is’. He is beyond doubt the best British crime writer

 

Inferno by Dan Brown. It is the most page turning book I have ever read! It is gripping, interesting and vey exciting. When I’m feeling sad this book immediately transports me to this run round Florence adventure.

 

Before I go to Sleep by S J Watson. It was a fantastic book, with a real twist. I couldn’t wait to see what happened

 

The postcard nominations will be amalgamated with all the tweets and e-mail nominations, from which we will compile the Brighton & Hove Top Twenty Mood-boosting books list! Life affirming stories and poems which raise your spirits and make you laugh, chosen by you.

 

If you have a postcard at home, there is still time to put in your nomination. You can return your completed postcard to your local library within the next week.

 

Look out for the next update!

 

Julie

Librarian

This entry was posted in Book Review, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

