“Captivated by library life…” Young volunteer Rhianna shares her volunteering experience

young vols stamp

Today is my last day with the Summer Reading Challenge this year, so here’s an overview of my thoughts on summer volunteering with the library.

From my first day, arriving knowing little of what would be expected of me, to today: wishing I had signed up for more days! First day nerves were dissipated very quickly by kind and helpful staff, and fellow volunteers showing me the ropes. From there I found myself captivated by library life.

Matilda5

Supporting children’s enthusiasm for reading could well be the best part– it’s adorable listening to their thought-out reasons for favourite books – and least favourite. As well as that I enjoyed the extra opportunities, like holding events on weekends, and finding out how things work around the library. I hope to volunteer next year too!

Rhianna, Young volunteer, Jubilee Library

 

This entry was posted in Summer Reading Challenge, Young Peoples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

