Upcoming exhibition at Jubilee Library – Shane James

Image result for arts award For the past year I have been working on my Silver Arts Award, a program funded by Brighton & Hove Youth Service for young people. A contributing factor to this award is displaying your work; thankfully Jubilee Library has agreed to accommodate my work.

My work is a combination of line drawings inspired by graphic design and has a common running theme of entertainment elements. Movies, books and music were my aspirations i.e. Quentin Tarantino’s Pulp Fiction and David Bowie.

shaneThe duration of time it takes to complete a drawing varies with each piece. For example, a free hand drawing can take me a total of 5 minutes to think up and complete. Whereas, a drawing like my pulp fiction inspired piece can take me a few hours to complete. The process of completing a drawing consists of doodling until I’m happy with the size and juxtaposition. I always doodle in pencil and go over with pen.

Never before have I had my very own exhibition so I’m curious to see how it is received by the public. With Jubilee Library being a central location in Brighton, I’m equally nervous as I am excited. The feeling I have is similar to that of when you’re about to get on a rollercoaster at a theme park.

Shane James

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

