Baelie’s review – ‘Optimism for Difficult Times’ (Brighton Festival 2017)

young-vols-stamp1Brighton Festival kindly gave our Reading Hack Young Volunteers some Pay it Forward tickets to attend a YA author panel this month called ‘Optimism for Difficult Times’. Here’s Baelie’s write-up of what was a really interesting and funny evening with some of the group’s favourite authors!

Hey everyone!

Today’s blog is going to talk about an event that I went to with my friend at the Sallis Benney Theatre! This event was part of the Brighton Festival, and it took place at the University of Brighton. Four authors including Juno Dawson, Alex Wheatle, Non Pratt and Patrice Lawrence, all sat down to discuss some issues including equality and some of their books. I was lucky enough to get my book Margot and Me signed by Juno Dawson!! It was overall a great experience, and I had a lot of insight into the world of someone who’s an author!

C_qFibnWAAU6h_K (1).jpg

The book that I got signed I thought I would really enjoy, and so far I have! Margot and Me is kind of based in the time of World War 2 and the 1980’s to the 1990’s. It’s about a girl named Felicity who moves to her grandmother’s farm with her previously ill mother. The story so far is great! And I can’t wait to read more.

 
My favourite bit about the whole event has to be the politics section. I like the topic of politics and for the four authors to discuss how they could include politics in their books was very interesting. I recommend to anyone who likes reading, or just going to events, to go to this next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

